2016 CBR.48hr Endurance Race Champions

Australia’s Best 24 Hour Runners on Show at CBR48Hr

While being stuck running and walking on a 400m track for a very long time seems to present significant mental and physical obstacles, one of the great aspects is that you get to share your adventure in this little micro-city with a lot of different runners with a wide range of life and running experiences.

A notable feature of the CBR48 races is that new and relatively inexperienced competitors get to share the track with some of the very best track/road runners from Australia (and overseas).

CBR48Hr welcomes the following members of the Australian Men’s and Women’s 24 Hour Teams that are using this event as a great testing ground for their training and racing in preparation for the upcoming World 24 Hour Championships, which will be held on 1 July in Belfast, Ireland:

Australian 24H Men’s Team

  • Mick Thwaites – 48 Hour Race
  • Kevin Muller – 24 Hour Race
  • John Pearson – 12 Hour Race
  • Matthew Eckford – 12 Hour Race
  • Ewan Horsburgh – 6 Hour Race

Australian 24H Women’s Team

  • Nikki Wynd – 48 Hour Race
  • Sharon Scholz – 24 Hour Race
  • Jodie Oborne – 12 Hour Race
  • Nicole Barker – 12 Hour Race

All of these fine athletes are very humble, approachable and knowledgeable and we hope that you can have a chat with them at some stage (before, during or after the event) and also help to encourage their performances during the race and perhaps learn some tips and tricks from them along the way J.

Martin Fryer: High Performance Advisor: Australian 24 Hour Team (The Emus)
6 March 2017

Billy Pearce, Race Director